The First Entry

I’ve taken up gardening so I thought I’d use this blog to both keep track of what I’m doing and soliciting advice from ya’ll who have great acreages of wisdom to be applied to gardens.
I built a greenhouse a year ago and first put it into service for early spring veges and early starts.  Right now, I’m using it for winter veges, and early spring veges.  I had initially planned to keep the greenhouse a cool one to prevent freezing, but since then, I’ve found out that they’re are 30 some-odd veges you can grow in a cold greenhouse.  You need to have planted them fairly early in the fall, so that the root systems are fairly well developed when the cold weather hits.  The idea is for the vegetables to be between 50 and 75% grown so that you can harvest them throughout the winter.  I planted oriental veges, cabbage and miner’s lettuce in late October which was too late for any quick growth.  I have been able to harvest some miner’s lettuce, but I didn’t plant near enough to keep a family of 8 in lettuce.  I have around 8 plants in 4 x 4 pots, which are doing well despite the greenhouse hitting the low 20’s a couple of times.  Most of the time it sits well above freezing. 

About Jim Oliver

Graduate of Western Conservative Baptist Seminary with a Masters in Exegetical Theology and former pastor of Teleios Bible Church Recently Published: Abiding by the Sermon on the Mount - A Dispensational Approach to Interpretation and Application. Available through Kindle Stores. E-Mail Contact: james.oliver2@comcast.net
This entry was posted in Winter Crops. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment